Breast Reduction Chronicles: Overwhelmed

reductionchronicles

In 2 weeks, I will be having surgery. The realization of this hit me hard when the hospital called to schedule me. That also made me realize I hadn’t even started shopping for the things I’ll need post-op. I went online to get what I knew was a quick list of items. I was so wrong.

Post-op Surgery List

  • Vitamin c (reduce scaring)
  • Bacitracin (neosporin)
  • Bromelian (pineapple extract to reduce swelling/scaring)
  • OTC sleep aid (for trying to sleep with pain due to being elevated)
  • Stool softener (too many meds = constipation)
  • Silicone Sheet
  • Gauze
  • Hibiclens/Antibacterial soap (to wash body with before surgery)
  • Heating pads
  • Ice packs
  • Thermometer (1st way to detect infection)
  • Yogurt
  • Jell-o/pudding
  • Low sodium soup
  • Crackers
  • salmon
  • Veggies
  • Fruit
  • Wedge pillow (can’t lie down)
  • Button down gowns/shirts (can’t lift arms)
  • Bucket (for nausea)

This really isn’t even a complete list. I didn’t even cover entertainment for bedrest or the long list of recommended vitamins to help expedite recovery. Not to mention the list of things I need to do like clean house, do laundry, get my hair done, pay bills early so I don’t have to think about them later….the list feels never ending.

I truly just need to focus on relaxing and checking things off the list one by one.

signature

2 thoughts on “Breast Reduction Chronicles: Overwhelmed

  1. Yes! Prepare for surgery! And prepare for your recuperation time! Don’t forget, you not only need the physical items for healing, but also emotional support! Try and pamper yourself! Set yourself up like the Queen you are! Good for you thinking ahead! And good luck to you.

    Dr Rhys Branman
    Little Rock Cosmetic Surgery Center

    • Thank you for the well wishes and words of encouragement, Dr. Branman. I am lucky to have a great team of supporters who have dedicated themselves to helping me through this. My family and friends have been amazing so far and I think part of my recovery will be spent thinking of ways to thank them for it.

Leave a Reply

