Mommy Talk: Date Your Kids

mommytalk date your kids

I sat across the table from Micah. I watched as a big smile lit up her face.

“Thanks for taking me to lunch, Mommy. This is the best day ever,” she said, her crooked smile getting wider and wider.

It melted my heart.

I focus so much on the day to day that I let those special times with my daughters get lost in the jumble of laundry, making dinner and homework. It becomes the last thing on the list, the optional thing that can be crossed off if need be.

But as I sat across from my daughter, eating pancakes doused in strawberry syrup, I realized that I had it all wrong.

How can she trust me if everything else is more important than her?

What I’ve discovered is that parenting is intentional. I became a mother seven years ago and quickly discovered that there are no instructions on how to raise a well rounded, respectful daughter. But the one thing that I’ve learned in seven years that trumps any other “tip” is that being intentional will save your child.

Part of being intentional is going on dates with your kids. They need to feel special, loved, listened to, cherished. Just like I do as a wife.

Lunch with my daughter this weekend proved one thing to me. She needs the attention and I should put aside my “busy work” and lavish it on her.

These days will fly by and before I know it, my seven year old will be seventeen and won’t want to spend any time with me. Unless I make an intentional investment of my time now.

I can’t see into the future, but I know that the time I invest in my girls now, will give me great returns down the line.

m sig

Leave a Reply

