Reduction Chronicles: Surgery Day

The past couple of weeks has flown by and my life has really changed. My surgery date was May 10th but the changes started a couple of days prior. My anxiety level was through the roof! I needed to stay busy to keep myself calm but the people in my life seemed to have other plans. Not to mention, some of them wanted me to counsel them on personal issues even when I told them I just didn’t have it in me to listen or solve their problems (more of life-sucking friends later). I ended up extremely irritable and frustrated right before surgery.

Despite that, I was surprisingly calm and excited the day of surgery.

IMG163_zps86d99615

I was a little nervous by my wonderful parents were with me and helped to keep me level. The nurses were amazing even though they made me take down the bun I had worked so hard to get to the top of my head. Apparently no rubber is allowed in the operating room. *shrug*

IMG164_zps153cd1f5

There was one complication during surgery. Unfortunately, I’m allergic to something in anesthesia. I was almost completely under when I suddenly woke back up, burning and itching from head to toe! The operating room went into a slight uproar as they attempted to calm me down while getting something to put into my IV to stop the reaction. They did and put me back under. Next thing I know, I was waking up, in excruciating pain and asking for my dad.

IMG168_zps1b0b0100

To be totally honest, the pain I felt when I woke up brought tears to my eyes. It was really bad. It mainly burned and felt like my chest was on fire. A few hours later, I was sent home and my dad helped get me into bed.

IMG169_zps7b2bff69

I don’t want this to be too long so there will be another post where I discuss my reactions and things I’ve been doing to help with recovery.

signature

Leave a Reply

